What are Transfer Tax Deviations?

Deviations from 1% Local Transfer Tax

The Realty Transfer Tax in Pennsylvania is generally 2% of the sales price stated on the deed. 1% is remitted to the Commonwealth of PA and 1% to the local government. Some local governments, however, vary their portion. The following is a list of localities that impose something other than 1%. These figures represent the local government portion only; the 1% for the Commonwealth of PA must be added for the total amount due.


This cost is typically split equally between the buyer and seller.

Allegheny County

Bellevue Borough – 1½%
Bethel Park Municipality – 1½%
Greentree Borough – 1½%
Hamptom Township – 1½%
McCandless Township – 1½%
McKeesport City – 2%
Monroeville Municipality – 1½%
Mt. Lebanon Municipality – 1½%
Mt. Oliver Borough – 2%
O’Hara Township – 1½%
Penn Hills Municipality – 2%
Pine Township – 1½%
Pittsburgh City with Pittsburgh SD – 3.5%
Pittsburgh City with Baldwin-Whitehall SD – 3%
Upper St. Clair Township – 1½%
West Deer Township – 1½%
Whitehall Borough – 1¼%

Beaver County – 1%

Somerset County

Wellersburg Borough – ½%

Washington County

Peters Township – 1½%

Municipalities in Butler, Beaver, Westmoreland also charge the 1% and the 1% to the state
These are some of the counties Settlements, Ltd. regularly serves

This is a guide only – your cost estimate will specifically determine the transfer taxes needed on your transaction.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *